Celebrating the 125th Anniversary of the Establishment of the Gifford Lectures
& 25th Anniversary of the John Templeton Foundation

Reflections of seven Templeton Laureates on how the ideas they set forth
in their Gifford Lectures may or may not have changed over time

Click on a photo to learn more about each Laureate.

All attendees must register online as space is limited.

Click here to RSVP

Freeman J. Dyson

2000 Templeton Prize Laureate

Gifford Lecture

University of Aberdeen, 1985
“Infinite in All Directions”

Freeman Dyson is a physicist and mathematician and Professor Emeritus at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey. His contributions to science include the unification of the three versions of quantum electrodynamics invented by Feynman, Schwinger, and Tomonaga. Dyson’s writings on the meaning of science and its relation to other disciplines, especially religion and ethics, challenge humankind to reconcile technology and social justice.


John D. Barrow

2006 Templeton Prize Laureate

Gifford Lecture

University of Glasgow, 1988
“Theories of Everything: The Quest for Ultimate Explanation”

John D. Barrow is Professor of Mathematical Sciences at Cambridge University and Gresham Professor of Geometry at Gresham College in London. His writings on the relationship between life and the universe draw insights from mathematics, physics, and astronomy, challenging scientists and theologians to cross disciplinary boundaries to test what they may or may not understand about the origins of time, space, and matter and the behavior of the universe.


Ian G. Barbour

1999 Templeton Prize Laureate

Gifford Lecture

University of Aberdeen, 1989 and 1990
“Religion in an Age of Science” and
“Ethics in an Age of Technology”

Ian Barbour is one of the world pioneers in the integration of science and religion. His books and articles have helped to expand the field of theology not only for Christianity but also for other faiths. A physicist and former chair of the religion department, Barbour is Winifred and Atherton Bean Professor Emeritus of Science, Technology and Society at Carleton College.


John Charlton Polkinghorne

2002 Templeton Prize Laureate

Gifford Lecture

University of Edinburgh, 1993
“The Faith of a Physicist”

John C. Polkinghorne is a mathematical physicist and Anglican priest whose treatment of theology as a natural science has invigorated the search for an interface between science and religion. His writings apply scientific approaches to the fundamentals of Christian orthodoxy and have brought him recognition as a unique voice for understanding the Bible and Christian doctrine.


Holmes Rolston III

2003 Templeton Prize Laureate

Gifford Lecture

University of Edinburgh, 1997
“Genes, Genesis and God”

Holmes Rolston III is University Distinguished Professor at Colorado State University and a Presbyterian minister whose 40 years of research on the religious imperative to respect nature helped to establish the field of environmental ethics. His work assigns value not only to human beings but also to plants, animals, species, and ecosystems as core issues of theological and scientific concern.


Charles M. Taylor

2007 Templeton Prize Laureate

Gifford Lecture

University of Edinburgh, 1999
“Living in a Secular Age”
University of Glasgow, 2009
“The Necessity of Secularist Regimes”

Charles Taylor, Professor Emeritus of Philosophy at McGill University, argues that problems such as violence and bigotry can be solved only by considering both their secular and spiritual dimensions. He suggests that depending wholly on secularized viewpoints leads to fragmented reasoning and prevents crucial insights that might help a global community that is increasingly exposed to clashes of culture, morality, nationality, and religion.


Martin J. Rees

2011 Templeton Prize Laureate

Gifford Lecture

University of St. Andrews, 2007
“21st Century Science: Cosmic Perspectives
and Terrestrial Challenges”

Martin J. Rees, Master of Trinity College, Cambridge, Astronomer Royal, and former president of the Royal Society, is one of the world’s leading theoretical astrophysicists. His distinguished achievements in cosmology and astrophysics have been exceptionally broad-based, and his pioneering research has contributed to the understanding of the origin and nature of the universe.